UKeiG, the UK e-information Group, would like to remind the LIS community that nominations for the Jason Farradane Award 2019 should be received no later than 5 pm this Friday 6th September, 2019.

Given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the information profession, the Award honours Jason Farradane who made an impact with a paper on the scientific approach to documentation at a Royal Society Scientific Information Conference in 1948 and was instrumental in establishing the Institute of Information Scientists in 1958 as well as the first academic courses in information science in 1963 at the precursor of City University, where he became Director of the Centre for Information Science in 1966.

The UKeiG Jason Farradane Award is made to an individual or a group of people in recognition of outstanding work in the information profession. The Award embraces activities in the information profession in its widest sense, while the Group's other award, the UKeiG Tony Kent Strix Award focuses more narrowly on information retrieval.

Nominations should meet one or more of the following criteria:

*Raising the profile of the information profession within an organisation or field of endeavour in a way which has become an exemplar to others;
*Raising the awareness of the value of information in the workplace;
*Demonstrating excellence in education and teaching in information science;
*Making a major contribution to the theory and practice of information science.

Key characteristics that the judging panel will look for in nominations are innovation, initiative, originality and practicality. None of the criteria should be read as necessarily implying activity over an extended period. The Award is open to individuals or groups from anywhere in the world.

Nominations should take the form of a short description (a document of no more than 3 sides of A4) of the work in question, together with full contact details of both the nominee and the nominator. Do not forget to include any documentation, references or URLs which may support the nomination. See some examples and a list of previous winners:

Previous individual winners include: Professor Charles Oppenheim (2013) Professor Hazel Hall (2016) Sheila Webber (2015).

Previous teams include: the Chemoinformatics Research Group in the Information School, University of Sheffield (2012) and the United Kingdom Council of Research Repositories (UKCoRR).

Nominations for the 2019 Award should be emailed with the full supporting documentation to:

John Wickenden – Hon. Secretary UKeiG UKeiG [log in to unmask]
cc-ed to Gary Horrocks - UKeiG administrator [log in to unmask] and
Sue Silcocks – Hon. Treasurer UKeiG [log in to unmask]

The closing date for nominations is 5 pm on Friday 6th September, 2019.

We hope to present the award at ILI - Internet Librarian International - on Wednesday 16th October, 2019.

UKeiG is a Special Interest Group of CILIP: the library and information association
7 Ridgmount Street, London, WC1E 7AE. Registered Charity No. 313014


To unsubscribe from the LIS-BAILER list, click the following link: