Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize 2016:
Call for nominations

The Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize is awarded on a yearly basis by the 
President of
Radboud University Nijmegen for the best thesis/paper(s)/essay(s) in the 
History and
Philosophy of Physics, submitted elsewhere towards a Master's (or 
comparable) degree.
Candidates should be nominated by their academic advisor(s) by 1 
November 2016.
The advisor(s) should email the thesis (etc.), stipulated to be approved 
by the degreeawarding
University within the period September 1, 2015 – August 31, 2016, with a
covering letter and brief cv of the candidate, to: Ms Hedwig Roeling, 
[log in to unmask]
The prize carries a 2.000 euro endowment. The precise regulations may be 
found on:
On November 11 2008 Hanneke Janssen died in a traffic accident, less 
than two months
after she had graduated cum laude from Radboud University with a 
Master's degree in
theoretical physics. The Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize intends to 
honour both her
exemplary personality and her work: her social engagement expressed 
itself e.g. in
preparing a weekly meal for the homeless, whereas her inspiring work in 
the foundations
of physics included her outstanding master thesis Reconstructing Reality 
(for which she
was posthumously awarded the Jim Cushing Memorial Prize 2009) and her 
role as
Managing Editor for the Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics.

Jury: Jos Uffink (chair), Klaas Landsman, Michiel Seevinck, Christoph 

Previous winners:
2010 Ronnie Hermens (Radboud University)
2012 Martin Jähnert (MPIGW Berlin)
2013 Neil Dewar (University of Oxford)
2014 Benjamin Feintzeig (University of California, Irvine)
2015 Josh Hunt (University of Michigan)

Further information see email 
Klaas Landsman at [log in to unmask]

Thank you! Please pass this on to anyone who might be interested.