medieval-religion: Scholarly discussions of medieval religion and culture

Chris Daniell wrote:
> I have found out that the Carmelites in the English province (does
> this include Scotland and Ireland as well?) were divided into
> four 'distinctions' - London, York, Norwich and Oxford - but which
> friaries are associated with which distinction is proving difficult to
> find out.  Norwich seems to consist of Burnham Norton, Blakeley,
> King's Lyn and Yarmouth.

According to the Catholic Encyclopedia, the English Province only included 
the Scottish and Irish Houses until 1305.  During the Hundred Years War a 
(presumably varying) number of French houses were included in the English 
Province, but only Calais remained with it until the Dissolution.

John Briggs 

To join the list, send the message: join medieval-religion YOUR NAME
to: [log in to unmask]
To send a message to the list, address it to:
[log in to unmask]
To leave the list, send the message: leave medieval-religion
to: [log in to unmask]
In order to report problems or to contact the list's owners, write to:
[log in to unmask]
For further information, visit our web site: