JiscMail Logo
Email discussion lists for the UK Education and Research communities

Help for UKPN Archives


UKPN Archives

UKPN Archives


UKPN@JISCMAIL.AC.UK


View:

Message:

[

First

|

Previous

|

Next

|

Last

]

By Topic:

[

First

|

Previous

|

Next

|

Last

]

By Author:

[

First

|

Previous

|

Next

|

Last

]

Font:

Proportional Font

LISTSERV Archives

LISTSERV Archives

UKPN Home

UKPN Home

UKPN  December 2008

UKPN December 2008

Options

Subscribe or Unsubscribe

Subscribe or Unsubscribe

Log In

Log In

Get Password

Get Password

Subject:

FW: Live IPY Event on Thursday: please join in

From:

"Atkinson, Helen" <[log in to unmask]>

Reply-To:

Atkinson, Helen

Date:

Tue, 2 Dec 2008 18:10:13 +0000

Content-Type:

multipart/mixed

Parts/Attachments:

Parts/Attachments

text/plain (84 lines) , Above the Poles_participant instuctions.pdf (84 lines) , abovethepoles_live_event_ipyiya.pdf (84 lines) , ATT00001.c (1 lines)

This Thursday is the IPY day 'Above the Poles' which focuses on atmopshere and meteorology in the polar regions.

Please see below for more information, this promises to be a fun event, connecting people involved in polar research to classrooms around the world. It is also an example of a great way to become involved in outreach activities. So please join in on Thursday, and pass this on to anyone else you think may be interested

Best Wishes
Helen

International Polar Day
IPY Above the Poles Day
When: Thursday, 4 December 2008
For further information, please go to:
http://www.ipy.org/index.php?/ipy/detail/abovethepoles
--------------------
The International Polar Year (IPY) science and education community
warmly encourages you to join them this Thursday, 4 December 2008, to
celebrate IPY Above The Poles Day. Whether you are a scientist, student,
young researcher, teacher, artist, educator, or parent, there will be
many ways to participate. For further information, please go to:
http://www.ipy.org/index.php?/ipy/detail/abovethepoles.
Scheduled activities include:
Virtual Weather Balloons
Launch a virtual weather balloon to show your involvement and log the
weather where you are.
Multi-lingual Weather Observation Activities
Participate with other schools, communities, and education centers
around the world with these weather observation activities. The
activities have been translated by volunteer teachers and are available
in several languages, including: Arabic, Afrikaans, Danish, Dutch,
English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese,
Russian, and Spanish.
Live Events
Two live events will allow you to ask questions of researchers in the
Arctic and Antarctic, and of experts from around the world. These events
are free to join; you must have access to the Internet or a phone.
  - The Europe/Asia event will take place on 4 December at 10:00am
  Universal Time (7:00am Chile/Greenland, 8:00am Sao Paolo/Rio, 10:00am
  United Kingdom, 11:00am Europe, 12:00pm Cape Town, 1:00pm Moscow,
  2:30pm India, 5:00pm Thailand, 6:00pm China, 9:00pm Sydney, and 11:00pm
  New Zealand).
To participate in this event, please email: [log in to unmask], or go to:
http://www.ipy.org/index.php?ipy/detail/abovethepoles_liveevents/.
  - The Americas event will take place on 4 December at 7:00pm Universal
  Time (9:00am Hawaii, 10:00am Alaska, 11:00am California, 1:00pm
  Chicago, 2:00pm New York City, 4:00pm Chile/Greenland, 5:00pm Sao
  Paulo/Rio, 7:00pm United Kingdom, 10:00pm Europe, 6:00am Sydney, and
  8:00am New Zealand).
To participate in this event, please email: [log in to unmask] or go to:
http://www.polartrec.com/live-from-ipy/overview.
Educational Activities
Access links, resources, and a wide range of related educational
activities endorsed by educators and scientists.
Scientist Profiles
Learn more about the people behind the research by viewing photos and
profiles of scientists.
Polar Research Background
Learn about polar research into the atmosphere, space, and earth
observation, by reading background information.
To learn more about the IPY Above the Poles Day, and to participate in
any of these activities, please go to:
http://www.ipy.org/index.php?/ipy/detail/abovethepoles.
________________________________________
From: Rhian Salmon [[log in to unmask]]
Sent: 02 December 2008 17:54
To: Atkinson, Helen
Subject: Live IPY Event on Thursday: please join in

Hi Helen,

Several people at the UKPN meeting expressed an interest in Thursday's
event: a great example of simple ways to get involved in outreach. The
event occurs Thursday morning at 10am, and you just need internet to
connect.. more details at the following link. I also attach a flyer,
and directions for participation.

http://www.ipy.org/index.php?ipy/detail/abovethepoles_liveevents/

can you please forward to the UKPN group?
Thanks again for participating



Rhian



Top of Message | Previous Page | Permalink

JiscMail Tools


RSS Feeds and Sharing


Advanced Options


Archives

July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
September 2008
July 2008
June 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007


JiscMail is a Jisc service.

View our service policies at https://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/policyandsecurity/ and Jisc's privacy policy at https://www.jisc.ac.uk/website/privacy-notice

Secured by F-Secure Anti-Virus CataList Email List Search Powered by the LISTSERV Email List Manager