To view this newsletter in a browser, visit:
https://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/cgi-bin/webadmin?A2=CLIMATHNET;b9aad408.1511p

To ensure that this newsletter is delivered to your inbox, add
[log in to unmask] to your address book.

Logo CliMathNet
Newsletter


2nd November 2015
In this Newsletter:

Call for expression of interests in workshop: Mathematical challenges of managing energy variability in the face of weather and climate variability. | Maths Foresees: Call for Feasibility Study, Outreach Project & Focused Mathematics Workshop Bids | MCRN Colloquium Webinar - begins in November 2015 | Subscription Details

Call for expression of interests in workshop: Mathematical challenges of managing energy variability in the face of weather and climate variability. (Back to Top)

Afternoon of 14th January and morning of 15th January 2016. Priory Rooms, Central Birmingham.

Aim:
The aim of the workshop is to explore themes for research that may in the long term help manage the relationship between variability of weather/climate and of water/energy use. For example, we will explore some of the challenges that arise from:

• Relations between weather variability and energy demand.
• Relations between weather variability and renewable energy generation.
• Longer-term challenges of climate change on energy generation and demand.
• Developing and using climate forecasts for engineering simulations.
• Linking smart meter patterns of activity to behavioural change.

Format:
We plan to have a number of presentations from researchers that will raise particular research problems, and follow this by a workshop-style meeting where participants will be encouraged to engage across disciplinary boundaries.

Participants:
We plan for up to 20 participants. This will be a mixture of engineers, computer scientists, mathematicians, statisticians and earth scientists, including participants associated with to the EPSRC- networks CliMathNet, ReCoVER (Research in Change of Variability and Environmental Risk; www.recoverlwec.org) and TEDDINET (Transforming Energy Demand through Digital Innovation; http://teddinet.org).

Expressions of interest:
If you are interested in participation, please email Emma Clarke [log in to unmask] or one of the organizers, if possible by 16th November 2015, to register your interest. Please include a paragraph detailing any particular interests relevant to the meeting.

Organizers: Peter Ashwin (Exeter), David Coley (Bath), Dan van der Horst (Edinburgh)

Costs:
We are able to offer funding for the meeting, meals and overnight stay for up to 20 people as well as reasonable UK travel costs for speakers.

Follow-up funding:
The network ReCoVER www.recoverlwec.org will offer participants the opportunity to apply for feasibility funding of up to £25k per project to follow up ideas from the workshop.


READ MORE




Maths Foresees: Call for Feasibility Study, Outreach Project & Focused Mathematics Workshop Bids (Back to Top)

Deadline: Monday 14th December 2015

Predicting severe weather events, including mid-latitude cyclones, hurricanes and river flooding, poses a significant challenge. Uncertainties in the prediction of where and how much precipitation will fall, how high storm surges will be and the direction of waves and wind that attack coast lines lie at the heart of this challenge.

The EPSRC-funded Maths Foresees Network will tackle these challenges through a range of activities. Specifically, the Maths Foresees network aims to:

• Forge collaborations between the applied mathematical sciences and environmental change communities.
• Facilitate knowledge exchange between the academic mathematical and environmental science communities and environmental stakeholders, including governmental agencies.
• Rethink the approach to the analysis of extreme weather events (quantify uncertainty).
• Promote mathematical modelling of environmental hazards in the wider UK community.
• Create public awareness of the mathematical and engineering challenges involved in living with environmental change, including severe weather events, and highlight the key role of mathematics through communication and outreach projects.

To help achieve these goals, the Maths Foresees Network is inviting proposals for Feasibility Studies, Outreach Projects and Focused Mathematics Workshops.


Feasibility Studies:

Applicants: Projects must involve two or more investigators based at different institutions. Participation by an industry organisation will add strength to proposals. The project PI will be responsible for the overall organisation of the project and for reporting on research outcomes to the Maths Foresees Network PI and Coordinator.

Award: A maximum of £25,000.


Outreach Projects:

Applicants: Projects must involve two or more investigators based at different institutions. Participation by an industry organisation will add strength to proposals. The lead investigator will be responsible for the overall organisation of the project and for reporting on outcomes to the Maths Foresees Network PI and Coordinator.

Award: A maximum of £10,000.


Focused Mathematics Workshops:

Applicants: The organising committee must involve two or more investigators based at different institutions. The lead organiser will be responsible for the overall organisation of the project and for reporting on outcomes to the Maths Foresees Network PI and Coordinator.

Award: A maximum of £3,750.


For more detailed information please refer to the:
- attached pdf flyer https://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/files/CLIMATHNET/Funding_Call_October15.pdf
- and visit the Maths Foresees Website http://www1.maths.leeds.ac.uk/mathsforesees/

How to Apply:

Contact Tiffany Aslam ([log in to unmask]) to request the appropriate LaTeX application template(s). All application(s) must be returned by Monday 14th December 2015.


READ MORE




MCRN Colloquium Webinar - begins in November 2015 (Back to Top)

Starting November 2015

The purpose of these colloquium talks is for all MCRN members (both current and potential) to become more familiar with each other's current research. The weekly webinar times will alternate between Monday mornings and Thursday evenings in Eastern Standard Time (EST) to allow for more participation around the world (all US time zones, Europe, India, Australiasia).

We will use WebEx for the webinar, and links will be sent in future newsletters.

• Monday, November 9th, 10:30am EST: Chris Jones (University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill)

Title: Where’s the Math in Climate Science?

Abstract: Climate science is dominated by the use of large-scale models, of which there are only 30 or so around the world. It might then seem that the need for mathematics is limited to areas that directly support the operation of such models. I will explain, by digging into the way the models work, this is not correct and that climate studies demand the development of various emerging as well as established areas of mathematics. Along the way, I will explain how models are used and what some of the big open issues are to further our understanding of how the climate works. The talk will include discussion of a case study of El Niño based on joint work with Andrew Roberts, Esther Widiasih, Axel Timmerman and John Guckenheimer.

Note: This will be a general and motivational talk that should be accessible, and I hope of interest, to pure and applied mathematicians at all levels from undergrad on up.

(This talk begins at 15:30 GMT = 5:30 HAST = 7:30 PDT = 8:30 MDT = 9:30 CDT = 16:30 CET = 21:00 IST, and on Tuesday, the 10th at 00:30 JST = 2:00 ACDT = 2:30 AEDT = 4:30 NZDT)


• Thursday, November 20th, 7:00pm EST: Luke Bennetts (University of Adelaide)
Title: TBA


• Monday, November 23rd, 10:30am EST: Erik Van Vleck (University of Kansas)
Title: TBA


• Thursday, December 3rd, 7:00pm EST: Rachel Kuske (University of British Columbia)
Title: TBA



* Please email [log in to unmask] if you would like to give a talk in the colloquium.


READ MORE




You are subscribed to CliMathNet. To unsubscribe, visit:
https://WWW.JISCMAIL.AC.UK/cgi-bin/webadmin?SUBED1=CLIMATHNET&A=1

University of Exeter

[log in to unmask]
http://www.climathnet.org/