

http://www.britishbiophysics.org.uk/ Registered Charity No. 25474

AGM of the British Biophysical Society Online (via Zoom) during the BBS 2020 Biennial meeting 16th September 2020

MINUTES

Present: Olwyn Byron (Chair), Tharin Blumenschein (Secretary), Anthony Watts, Ann Dixon, Jean Thomas, Christoph Baumann, Mark Wallace, Séamus Holden, Jayne Wallace, John Sanderson, Syma Khalid, Chandrashekhar Kulkarni, Ehmke Pohl, Jeremy Lakey, Steve Harding, Simon Phillips, Antonio Diego Molina-Garcia, Guy Grant, Alice Pyne, Christine Lockey, Dave Scott, Lindsay Sawyer, Mark Leake, Rob Cooke, Simon Skinner, Najet Mahmoudi

Approval of minutes of the minutes of the 2019 AGM The minutes were approved without opposition, with 23 votes for.

2. Chair's report

The Chair presented the Society's activities since the 2019 AGM. As this year is 60 years since the first meeting of the BBS, a little electronic booklet about "60 Years of Biophysics in Britain" was created to mark the occasion. The Chair thanked committee members who left the committee in the past year – Rob Cooke, Jeremy Craven and Tuomas Knowles – and welcomed two new members, Jayne Wallace and Alice Pyne. This year the BBS instituted a new prize, the BBS Kendrew Doctoral Thesis Prize, awarded every two years for an outstanding PhD thesis in biophysics in the UK or Ireland. The prize is named after John Kendrew, an outstanding structural biologist who made great contributions to science and to the BBS. The first ever Kendrew Prize was awarded this year to Daniel Hurdiss, who completed his PhD at the University of Leeds. The BBS Early Career Award was renamed after Dame Louise Johnson, an outstanding scientist who was an excellent mentor to many. The 2020 winner for the BBS Louise Johnson Early Career Award is Séamus Holden (University of Newcastle). The 2020 Sosei Heptares Prize for Biophysics was awarded to John Christodoulou (UCL, Birkbeck College and The Francis Crick Institute).

In the past year, the BBS has maintained links with other professional societies, via representatives on our committee. Additionally, the BBS Chair is currently the Biophysical Society Ambassador for the UK. The BBS supported a number of meetings since the last Biennial meeting, with a joint meeting with the RSC NMRDG in April 2019, a 4-day meeting on Single Molecule Bacteriology in September 2019 in Oxford, bursaries for the

EBSA 2019 summer school, and more. We are currently running this online Biennial Meeting, with 1361 participants registered, reaching a peak of 550 participants attending simultaneously, and 775 maximum participants per day. Hopefully our next Biennial Meeting, in 2022, will have a physical presence. We are currently considering organising it in Ireland.

3. Treasurer's report

The Treasurer reported that expenditures have decreased this year due to COVID-19. Years in which the Biennial Meeting takes place usually generate a higher income, although this is not the case this year since this online meeting is being run with free registration. The Treasurer's report was unanimously approved and describes a healthy financial situation for the BBS.

4. Election of BBS Officers

Olwyn Byron – Chair Tharin Blumenschein – Secretary Ann Dixon – Treasurer John Sanderson – Meetings' Secretary. These were approved with 25 votes in favour, no opposition.

5. Honorary Members

The nominations of Steve Harding (University of Nottingham), Simon Phillips (University of Leeds) and Alison Roger (Macquarie University) as Honorary Members elected in 2020 were approved, with 24 votes in favour and two abstentions from two nominated Honorary Members.

6. AOB

There were no additional items of business.